DNKL – Hunt

Hunt is the atmospheric debut release by Swedish trio DNKL. Not a whole lot is know about this new group except that they hail from Gothenburg, and their style of music is an eerie hybrid of ambient and mid-tempo electronica. A nice soundtrack to this dark, wet and otherwise miserable Tuesday evening. Listen to it down… Read more »

Brazil – Hide Away

Hide Away is the exceptional debut release by London four-piece Brazil. It’s an unstoppable track that’s going to bulldoze its way to a lot of unsuspecting ears this week. It’s an explosive, thrilling and at times anthemic rock tune that clocks in at just over two minutes in length, then begs to be replayed over… Read more »

Tei Shi – M&Ms

M&Ms is the simply astonishing debut single by Brooklyn-based musician Valerie Teicher, aka Tei Shi. The fact that a song of this standard is Tei Shi’s very first release is something I find simply unbelievable, as this is one of the loveliest debuts of recent memory. M&Ms is built around a very simple beat, allowing Tei Shi’s… Read more »

Baby Alpaca – Wild Child

Following on from the jaw-dropping Sea Of Dreams, Baby Alpaca continue to impress with their latest offering, Wild Child. The opening line – “You said I was a loser, said I was a boozer. What you think with your little mind, You don’t feel Like I feel, and I’m feeling fine” pretty much sets the tone… Read more »

f y f e – Lies

f y f e will release his highly anticipated debut EP, Solace, on April 7. You can pre-order it here through iTunes. The Londoner continues to blow me away with every beautifully understated release, particularly St. Tropez and his latest offering Lies. Lies is another endearing track from somewhat mysterious musician (David’s Lyre) and you better… Read more »

Butterclock – Holograms

For those of you who remember Laura Clock as the vocalist on oOoOO’s Our Love Is Hurting Us, you’re bound to be as excited as I am about this release. Butterclock (aka Laura Clock) has shared the second single, Holograms, from her highly anticipated debut EP, First Prom. Holograms is a really pretty electro-pop love song with a… Read more »

Visuals – Levitation

Brooklyn two-piece Visuals, Andrew Fox and Marshall Ryan, have unveiled the trippy/psychedelic video for their debut single Levitation. The track itself is reminiscent of something that might have come out of Manchester in the Eighties. Never a bad thing.

Album Stream: Deptford Goth – Life After Defo

Deptford Goth, aka Daniel Woolhouse, will release his highly anticipated debut album Life After Defo on March 18 through Merok Records. The astonishing Union is easily one of my favourite singles of the year, and I’ve been counting down the days until this album drops. If you’re like me and can’t wait that long, you can… Read more »

Local Channel – Arctic

Silver Lake, Los Angeles-based indie/shoegaze outfit Local Channel have just shared their excellent debut single Arctic, and made it available for free download. It’s a very promising start from the band that has me pretty stoked to hear more. They plan on dropping an EP in March which I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for.