Flesh World – Into The Shroud

California-based post-punk outfit Flesh World, which features Scott of Limp Wrist and Jess of Brilliant Colors, recently announced their sophomore album Into the Shroud will be released on September 8 via Dark Entries.

Today, the group share a video for new single and title track Into The Shroud. The video for Into the Shroud was shot just a few minutes walk from the Pacific Ocean in SF.

Flesh World explain the video is an “attempt to transform the rush of a motorcycle ride into a suspended, loitering spiral of skulking boys on a Honda bike. This, combined with the overlay of painted images by singer Jess Scott both figuratively and literally reflect the song’s tale of traveling through the imminent hum of an anxious experience, onwards to a quickly approaching spiral, finally lurching past love and towards dread.”

Each song on Into The Shroud speaks to a chaotic or sometimes eclectic period of influence of different books, ideas, drawings, saints, stories, and aims gathered in the two year writing process since the previous album, The Wild Animals In My Life. Themes of this record include writer, advice columnist, and Dreamland actress Cookie Mueller, the youth’s effect on the general political psychosis of nostalgia, icon Billy Fury, and the writings and drawings of Jean Cocteau as a hovering guide for living with less rules.

The record is a topological map showing the cities of the Bay Area and Los Angeles in rapid change, looking to the books, records and artists paid study to in order to create continuity in the constant flux of the city, the punk show, the gay world, and the rest of the environments Flesh World insulate themselves in for survival.

METZ – Drained Lake

METZ will release Strange Peace, their highly-anticipated third full-length album on September 22 via Sub Pop, and Royal Mountain in Canada.

Alex Edkins (guitar, vocals), Hayden Menzies (drums), and Chris Slorach (bass) recorded the album at Electrical Audio in Chicago, live off the floor to tape with Steve Albini. The result is a distinct artistic maturation into new and alarming territory, frantically pushing past where the band has gone before, while capturing the notorious intensity of their live show. The trio continued to assemble the album (including home recordings, additional instrumentation) back at home in Toronto, adding the finishing touches with longtime collaborator, engineer and mixer, Graham Walsh.

“The songs on Strange Peace are about uncertainty,” Edkins explains. “They’re about recognising that we’re not always in control of our own fate, and about admitting our mistakes and fears. They’re about finding some semblance of peace within the chaos.”

The new METZ track, Drained Lake, is a propulsive, jagged thing; heavy 21st century post-post-punk, with an infectious sea-sick synth line added for good measure.

‘Drained Lake’ reflects “The constant struggle to know yourself and make sense of your life and surroundings. What is my purpose? Holding on to who you are while fending off pressure to bend to what other people want and expect from you,” says METZ frontman Alex Edkins.

Strange Peace is out September 22 on Sub Pop and Royal Mountain Records. Pre-order here.

CYMBALS – Where Nothing Can Be Defined

CYMBALS, the London-based duo of Jack Cleverly and Dan Simons, today shared Where Nothing Can Be Defined, the latest single from their second album, Light In Your Mind, out August 25 on Tough Love Records.

Jack Cleverly, one half of CYMBALS, says of the song: “The song was written on an acoustic guitar, very quietly, at night. Dan added layers of synths and arpegiators over the top of my iPhone demo, and then Josh Heffernan created the drum beat, which to us is a classic beat, but we knew we needed it for this song.

“At the time I had the idea for the song, I was doing something I had got into, which was to flip a sunset sky in my mind upside-down and backwards, so the clouds look like islands in a vast sea. I can now see that at that time I was also trying to escape in my mind. And a sea, in a sky, was an image that carried me a long way.”

Where Nothing Can Be Defined follows previous singles Car Crash, and Decay and its Matthew Reed-directed video shot during the winter months in a number of British seaside towns.

CYMBALS release their sophomore album, Light In Your Mind, on August 25 via Tough Love Records. Pre-order here.

Out Lines – Buried Guns

Out Lines is a new collaborative project between Kathryn Joseph, the singer-songwriter behind 2015 SAY Award-winning album bones you have thrown me and blood I’ve spilled; James Graham, frontman for Glaswegian indie outfit The Twilight Sad; and Marcus Mackay, critically-acclaimed producer, songwriter and percussionist, and founder of iconic recording studio The Diving Bell Lounge.

Today, the trio are pleased to announce the release of their debut album as Out Lines, Conflats, which arrives October 27 on the renowned Rock Action. This exciting new body of work was inspired by conversations Kathryn and James had with people who use Platform: a groundbreaking multi-arts and community space in Easterhouse, an area in the east end of Glasgow. With James and Kathryn at the helm of translating the stories heard through their conversations with locals and Marcus steering the sound, an inspiring collection of songs were written for a one-off headline performance as part of Outskirts Festival at Platform in April 2016 – an opportunity offered to the trio by Alun Woodward, formerly of The Delgados, who now works at Platform.

Using Kathryn’s signature ships piano, harmonium, a mix of Marcus’ unique percussion style – live and programmed drums with bass synth – alongside James and Kathryn taking turns on lead vocals in combination with their alchemic harmonies, this collaboration is set to be an exciting recorded entity. Conflats was recorded at Marcus’ own Diving Bell Lounge studio, mixed by Tony Doogan at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom and mastered at Abbey Road Studios by Frank Arkwright. The artwork for Conflats is an original piece by Scott Hutchinson of Frightened Rabbit.

The news comes accompanied by a first taster of the album in the guise of its engulfing opener Buried Guns, a track that perfectly sets up the tumultuous, cathartic waters on which Conflats resides.

Out Lines release their forthcoming debut Conflats on October 27 via Rock Action. Pre-order here.

SILVER SOUNDZ | July 2017 Mix

1. PATIENCE – White Of An Eye
2. Kllo – Virtue
3. Machine Woman – Camile From OHM Makes Me Feel Loved
4. Purity Ring – Asido
5. Mount Kimbie – Blue Train Lines (feat. King Krule)
6. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – An Intention
7. BOSCO – Adrenaline
8. Yaeji – Therapy
9. Smerz – Oh my my
10. Lone – Minds Eye Melody
11. Mønic – Deep Summer (Burial Remix)
12. Patricia – Speed Wagon Night Bride
13. Four Tet – Two Thousand And Seventeen