Troumaca – Lady Colour

Introducing Troumaca, another in the wave of excellent new bands flooding out of Birmingham at the minute. Perhaps, easy to overlook with Swim Deep andPeace signing to major labels and generating a hell of a lot of blog buzz. Troumaca are about to drop their debut EP, ‘Virgin Island’, on January 28th. The lead single is ‘Lady Colour’ and it’s like a fusion of Indie Pop with Reggae, Soul and Dub. Definitely worth a listen.

Toro y Moi – Say That

Toro y Moi has created a huge following for his ability to release irresistibly danceable and infectious tunes, time after time again. He recently dropped the video for the ridiculously smooth ‘So Many Details’ and now he’s back again with another quality cut. ‘Say That’ is the latest single from his forthcoming album ’Anything in Return’ and surprise surprise, he’s absolutely nailed it once again. Seriously, anything this guy touches at the moment is gold. Too fresh.

Anything In Return drops January 22 (cannot wait!)

Ryan Hemsworth – BasedWorld

Here’s a new cut from Ryan Hemsworth, one of 2012’s most promising new producers. He’s already gearing up for a massive 2013, and dropped ‘Baseworld’ as a New Years gift. Stream and download below. Much appreciated Ryan!

Happa – Freak

‘Freak’ is the new cut from Leeds wonderkid Samir Alikhanizadeh, aka Happa. While most fifteen year old’s were probably tearing open there iPhones/iPads over the xmas period, Happa kindly dropped this absolute gem on us. ‘Freak’ is dark and eerie, with one seriously killer house beat. Stream and download below.

Raekwon – ‘Never Can Say Goodbye’ & ‘Neither One of Us’

Raekwon just dropped two new tracks, one a freestyle, the other taken from his upcoming LP ‘The Jewelry Store’, due next week. ’Never Can Say Goodbye’ sees The Chef laying down some bars over a really smooth beat. ‘Neither One of Us’ sees the Wu-Tang Clan member making good use of the Gladys Knight hit of the same name.

Swim Deep – The Sea

One of my favourite new bands, Birmingham’s Swim Deep, dropped two absolute diamonds last year with the release of ‘Honey’ and its B-side ’Orange County’. BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephen’s premiered their latest single ‘The Sea’ on his slot this morning. It’s another totally infectious piece of indie pop with some great ‘ooh ahh’ hooks thrown into the mix too. Their debut album is out this year too which should be great but in the meantime check out ‘The Sea’ below.

Azealia Banks – BBD

Azealia Banks releases her debut album, Broke With Expensive Taste, later this year (no confirmed date yet). She preps us with her first leak of the year, the Apple Juice Kid and Sup Doodle-produced ‘BBD.’ Check it out.

Atlas – Feel Me

Having dropped their debut EP ‘Cities’ last year, Leeds-based outfit Atlas are relatively new to the scene. I should mention that along with ‘Cities’ they dropped an ultra smooth cover of Franks Oceans ‘Thinkin’ Bout You’ which is a must hear. Their latest release ‘Feel Me’ has left me simply blown away, I was not expecting this song to be as addictive. The subtle production here is wonderful, reminiscent at times of The xx, with Emily Harris touching pleas stealing the show for me.

Moods – Love Is Real

‘Love Is Real’ is the smooth new instrumental cut from Netherlands-based producer Moods. That old school hip-hop style beat had my head bopping instantly and vocal samples used here are very slick. Good vibes all round. Check out more of his sounds over on his SoundCloud.

Au.Ra – Sun

Some really nice, laid back surf-rock/dream-pop for you to enjoy courtesy of Sydney outfit Au.Ra and their new song ‘Sun’. While the comparisons to Tame Impala will be hard to avoid, there are similarities to bands like Beach Fossils and DIIV too. ‘Sun’ is completely enjoyable from start to finish and it seems to just float along over an ultra chilled-out melody and impressively laid back vocals. Really, really liking this one.