Short Stories – On The Way

Here’s the latest cut from Koreless and Sampha’s new project Short Stories. It’s called ‘On The Way’ and between Koreless’ finely tuned ear for a melody and Sampha’s distinctive voice you’re in for a real treat. Their debut single, ‘Let It Go/On the Way’, will be released on January 28 via Young Turks. Dig in.

The Wives – Brooklyn Beats

It’s going to be hard not to mention Van Morrison or Them when talking about New York-based outfit The Wives and their new track ‘Brooklyn Beats’. The band recently uploaded a three-track demo to their Bandcamp page which you can stream or download for free. While the band are protected by the umbrella of a Garage Rock label, it has to be said that while many bands try and try to hit that Van the man/Them sound, The Wives have pulled it off with ease.

Factory Floor – Fall Back

London trio Factory Floor announced last year they would be releasing their debut album through DFA Records this year. I think I can speak for a lot of people when I say that it’s one of the most highly anticipated electronic releases of 2013. The first single to be taken from the album is the pulsating ‘Fall Back’. The single will be available January 15. Pre-orders are available over at DFA Records or on iTunes. In the meantime, stream it below.

Ty Segall forms new band Fuzz. Listen to two tracks.

After dropping three pretty awesome albums in 2012, Ty Segall has formed a new band called Fuzz and dropped two new tracks which you can hear below. For those more familiar with Ty Segall, as the guitar shredding frontman, I hope you aren’t too disappointed when you realise he’s on drums here. Charlie Moonheart, who plays guitar in Ty Segall’s live band is on vocals here. Sounds pretty cool actually.

Youth Lagoon announces new LP

Trevor Powers, aka Youth Lagoon, has announced that his new album ‘Wondrous Bughouse’ the follow up to 2011’s excellent ‘Year Of Hibernation’ will be released March 5.

Wondrous Bughouse:

01 Through Mind and Back
02 Mute
03 Attic Doctor
04 The Bath
05 Pelican Man
06 Dropla
07 Sleep Paralysis
08 Third Dystopia
09 Raspberry Cane
10 Daisyphobia

Filthy Boy – Jimmy Jammies

London outfit Filthy Boy recently signed with Stranger Records and are set to release their debut album ‘Smile That Won’t Go Down’ this April. I’m guessing the band are in a celebratory mood as they’ve just released a video for the album track ‘Jimmy Jammies’. Really liking it.

Local Natives – Heavy Feet

Here’s the studio version of Local Natives ‘Heavy Feet’ which they recently premiered live on KCRW.
Hummingbird, their new album is due out January 29.

Octo Octa – So Lux

Brooklyn artist Octo Octa just dropped this really sparkling, warped House number on his SoundCloud page. It’s called ‘So Lux’ and I will be playing it on repeat for the rest of the night. Too fresh.

Active Child – His Eye Is On the Sparrow

Active Child’s Pat Grossi has recorded a beautifully sparse version of the gospel hymn ‘His Eye Is On The Sparrow’. The song was originally written in 1905 and has been covered by the likes of Marvin Gaye and Whitney Housten. The song does shimmer through the sparseness with Grossi’s falsetto sending chills.

Born Ruffians – With Her Shadow

Paul Simon/Vampire Weekend vibes all over this new Born Ruffians track ‘With Her Shadow’. The Ontario four piece are set to release a new album at some point this year, but in the meantime check out their very summery and very catchy new single below.