David Bowie – Where Are We Now?

It’s David Bowie’s 66th birthday today, and as a present to us he released his first piece of new material in over a decade. I’m sure just about everyone has heard it by now, but what do you all think of Where Are We Now? I love it.
The Next Day, his 30th studio recording, is out in March 11. I am counting down the days.

Iceage – Coalition

Copenhagen post-punk outfit Iceage dropped a new track today called ‘Coalition’, it’s the first single taken from their new album, the excellently named, You’re Nothing. The album will be out February 19 via Matador Records, and my first impressions of ‘Coalition’ are that it’s brilliant.
‘Coalition’ sounds a lot more focused than anything I previously heard on Iceage’s debut, the chaotic New Brigade. That’s not to say they’ve lost any of their ferocity, they just seem to have toned the noise down a little. There’s still those familiar vocals, which sound like Joe Strummer, Pete Doherty and Joey Ramone all shouting into the one microphone. There’s also plenty of distorted guitars. It’s just a great new track.

Devendra Banhart – Für Hildegard von Bingen

One of folk musics most colourful characters, Devendra Banhart is set to release his eight studio album Mala on March 8. Below is the albums artwork, which Devendra paint himself. He also shared a new track called ‘Für Hildegard von Bingen’ via Pitchfork which I am happy to say is really quite good.

The Knife Announce Live Shows

Excellent news! The Knife are official heading back on the road and have announced two shows, their first since 2006’s Silent Shout. They’ll play at Vega in Copenhagen on May 12 and 13. These dates will follow the release of their long-awaited new album, Shaking the Habitual, which is out April 8. This bodes well for more European gigs, fingers crossed.

Atoms for Peace – Judge Jury and Executioner

Zane Lowe hosted Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, and Joey Waronker on his BBC Radio 1 slot this afternoon and premiered a track off Atoms For Peace’s long-anticipated Amok LP. The track is called ‘Judge, Jury and Executioner’ and it’s simply fantastic. Atoms for Peace also features the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea and percussionist Mauro Refosco.

SBTRKT – Hold On / Migration

SBTRKT dropped a live album on iTunes today, with little or no fuss, simply entitled ‘Live’. He also shared a video performance of Hold On/Migration which features vocalist/producer Sampha. The sound and footage for the release comes from two shows he played at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire last October, which were filmed using 12 different cameras. It looks amazing.


01 Surely (ft. Heritage Orchestra)
02 Never Never (ft. Sampha and Heritage Orchestra)
03 Heatwave (ft. Sampha)
04 Hold On/Migration (ft. Sampha)
05 Go Bang (ft. Heritage Orchestra)
06 Trials of the Past (ft. Sampha and Heritage Orchestra)
07 Santuary
08 Evening Glow (ft. Sampha)
09 Wildfire
10 Right Thing to Do (ft. Sampha)


01 Hold On/Migration (ft. Sampha)
02 Wildfire

Wolf Alice – Fluffy

Emerging London-based outfit Wolf Alice provided us with the perfect introduction last year when they released the brilliant ‘Leaving You‘. They’re back again with a new track called ‘Fluffy’, which is to be their official debut single. ‘Leaving You’ was a lot more of a softer psych-rock affair, but without being too heavy ‘Fluffy’ is more of a headbanger. The onslaught of guitars are blistering and, in Ellie Roswell, Wolf Alice have a truly excellent frontwomen with a vocal confidence and charisma reminiscent of Karen O. Ones to watch.