Devendra Banhart – Never Seen Such Good Things

On March 12, Devendra Banhart will release his eight studio album Mala. ‘Never Seen Such Good Things’ is the second single from the upcoming album and it sees Devendra looking back on a failed relationship. There’s some typically quirky lyrics on this track like “if we ever make sweet love again, I expect it’ll be quite disgusting”, which I had a little laugh too, but there’s also heartfelt lines like “Love you’re a strange fella, won’t you leave your mark on me”? Stream it below.

Young Galaxy – Pretty Boy

Well, this was certainly worth the wait. Montreal outfit Young Galaxy returned today with their glorious new single, ‘Pretty Boy’. It’s the first new material from the group since their excellent 2011 LP Shapeshifting. I’ve always felt Young Galaxy were a band getting better and better with every album. Their self-titled 2007 debut was a really brilliant album that I had on repeat for months. Similar story again when Shapeshifting came out, but on that album you could really feel the band had stepped up their game. ‘Pretty Boy’ is a shimmering, New Order-esque blast of dance-pop that seems to just soar from start to finish. Listening to this song really is a rush.

Their new album Ultramarine is due out April 23.


Nerves Junior – Goodnight Nobody

Louisville-based rockers Nerves Junior are back with ‘Goodnight Nobody’, their first offering of new music since their excellent 2011 debut As Bright As Your Night Light. The track explodes almost instantly, sounding a little like Grizzly Bear and Local Natives, with some lovely guitar playing and smashing drum work courtesy of Brey McCoy.
In a recent interview with Consequence Of Sound Zachary O’Renick explained that the lyrics “are about wanting to tell my daughter about that transition every child must eventually face when growing up and dealing with the darkness of life.”
Their new album Craters drops February 12 on SonaBLAST!

Tiger Waves – Fields

Tiger Waves, who never cease to floor me with their music, have another excellent new track out which Earmilk recently premiered. ‘Fields’ is the title of their new track and it follows their previous releases ‘Countryside’ and ‘Weekends’, which was one of my favourite singles of 2012. Full of rich melodies and gentle guitar playing, these guys could give Fleet Foxes a serious run for their money.

Akron/Family – No-Room

Experimental freak-folk outfit Akron/Family drop their new album Sub Verses on April 30 via Dead Oceans. Yesterday they shared it’s first single but I was waaay too shook to check it out. Anyway, I’m back to normal today and I’ve had it on repeat for the last hour or so, check it out.