Elephant – Skyscraper

Amelia Rivas and Christian Pinchbeck make up Elephant, a new London-based dream-pop outfit. They have a really wonderful new track out at the moment called ‘Skyscraper’. It’s an absolutely beautiful piece of music, that’s drenched in doo-wop goodness, making this one of the nicest pop songs of 2013. Fans of Beach House will enjoy this.

Steezy Ray Vibes – Endless Calm

Dan Casey is Steezy Ray Vibes, and his latest offering ‘Endless Calm’ is only his second release since last years demo ‘Empty City’. ‘Endless Calm’ is a brilliantly chilled out track, doused in dreamy melodies and tight guitar playing similar to that of Real Estate and Mac DeMarco. Casey does take his time with his releases, but they are certainly worth the wait. I’ve been playing both tracks all morning, and with the sun blaring outside it’s the perfect soundtrack. Dig in.

Grown Folk – Cordelia

Grown Folk is the collaborative project between Montreal-based producers Drew Kim and Brendan Neal. Next week on, February 11, they drop The Boat EP on Icee Hot. ‘Cordelia’ is the first offering from the EP and it’s a perfect blend of minimal house with subtle electronic beats. Stream and download ‘Cornelia’ below and look out for The Boat on February 11.

“House music for the new decade, the usual lingo, the usual rhythm.”

Field Mouse – Tomorrow is Yesterday

Field Mouse, a four-piece dream pop band from Brooklyn NY, yesterday began streaming their latest single ‘Tomorrow Is Yesterday’ via the excellent yvynyl. The band mix shoegaze and dream pop with sonic indie textures to create a really awesome style of music and with Rachel Brown’s vocals they really set themselves apart from other bands. Reminds me of Pavement’s ‘Unfair‘?

Baauer – Baddest

There’s maybe only a handful of people throwing out quality Trap music as consistently as Baauer has been in the last year. His latest cut, ‘Baddest’, initially aired a couple of weeks ago on a couple of radio shows, and now it’s found its way to me. He’s already dropped two insane numbers this year with ‘Slip‘ and the Just Blaze collaboration ‘Higher‘ and this is another that’s just off the hook beat and sample wise. It bangs!

Mt. Wolf – Hypolight

Hypolight is the stunning new single from Mt. Wolf, and it’s the latest by the London-based four piece that has completely and utterly blown me away. Mt. Wolf surfaced last year with their debut EP Life Size Ghosts, and on the back of its brilliant title track they were tipped for a big 2013. They release their Hypolight EP later this year, and its first single is again the title track. Kate Sproule’s vocals on Hypolight are simply gorgeous, and they’ve repeatably sent shivers down my spine with listen after listen. The 1:10 minute mark in particular, where her voice truly blossoms, is perhaps the most breath-taking vocal performance of 2013 so far. Outstanding.

PYYRAMIDS – Do You Think You’re Enough?

PYYRAMIDS are back with their banging new track ‘Do You Think You’re Enough?’. PYYRAMIDS are Tim Nordwind of OK Go and Drea Smith of He Say/She Say. They initially caught my attention last month with a catchy electro-pop number called Don’t Go. What I really like about this duo, aside from Smith’s vocals, is their obvious ear for a hook. ‘Do You Think You’re Enough?’ is a pulsating blast of indie-pop that becomes exhilarating the more you play it. These guys are brilliant!