The Postal Service – A Tattered Line of String

On April 9, The Postal Service will release the 10th Anniversary Edition of Give Up, via Sub Pop. The album will feature previously unheard tracks ‘Turn Around’ and ‘A Tattered Line of String’ which the duo have just shared. ‘A Tattered Line of String’ is an excellent track. It’s extremely upbeat, so I can see why it didn’t really fit in with the original Give Up recordings. It’s great to hear Jenny Lewis and Ben Gibbard vocals sounding so good.

Youth Lagoon – Mute

With the release of Youth Lagoon‘s sophomore LP Wondrous Bughouse just around the corner, Trevor Powers has just shared his new single ‘Mute’, quite possibly the strongest Youth Lagoon track to date. It’s not long since he released the wonderful ‘Dropla’, and ‘Mute’ is another clear reason as to why Wondrous Bughouse is one of 2013’s most eagerly awaited albums. Clearly stepping in a brighter direction, ‘Mute’ is packed with multi-layered synths, hazy guitars and keyboards, and also some of Power’s most anthemic vocals to date. Simply outstanding.

Wondrous Bughouse is out March 5 on Fat Possum.

HAIM – Falling

HAIM are back with another outstanding new track, ‘Falling’. The California sisters previously performed this song live for BBC Radio 1 back in January and now they’ve officially released it as their third single. ‘Falling’ contains just about everything thats made HAIM one of my favourite new bands. Killer hooks, gorgeous pop melodies, harmonies so catchy you can’t help singing along and another impressively funky bassline. They drop their debut LP later this year and I’ve got massive hopes for it.

The Falling EP drops April 1 on National Anthem/Polydor.

Sunday Afternoon Mix #2

1. Dream Koala – Ocean
2. Jai Paul – BTSTU
3. Tame Impala – Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
4. Toro y Moi – Say That
5. Cat Power feat. Angel Haze – Manhattan (Ryan Hemsworth Remix)
6. Dag Savage – When It Rains (feat. Aloe Blacc)
7. Frank Ocean – Pink Matter (feat. Andre 3000 & Big Boi)
8. CHVRCHES – Recover
9. MS MR – Fantasy
10. The Knife – Heartbeats (live)
11. Evenings – Friend [Lover]
12. James Blake – CMYK
13. Friendly Fires – Strangelove (Depeche Mode Cover)
14. Autre Ne Veut – Play By Play
15. Ducktails – Letter Of Intent
16. Dean Blunt – The Narcissist ft. Inga Copeland
17. James Blake – Retrograde

French Films – Latter Days

I’ve been looking forward to hearing some new music by Finnish indie-rockers French Films, and their latest single ‘Latter Days’ doesn’t disappoint. Taken from their forthcoming second LP White Orchid, ‘Latter Days’ is really inviting slice of indie-rock that pleasingly sees the bands building on the success of their debut album Imaginary Future. Their new album drops May 3, have a listen to their new tune below.

White Orchid Tracklisting:

1. White Orchid
2. Where We Come From
3. Ridin’ On
4. Special Shades
5. All The Time You Got
6. Latter Days
7. Long Lost Children
8. Juveniles
9. Into Thousand Years
10. 99