Lydia Ainsworth – Into The Blue

Toronto-based artist, composer and producer Lydia Ainsworth will release her gorgeous new album, Darling of the Afterglow, on March 31 via Bella Union.

The album features a team of local Toronto musicians, woven into Ainsworth’s programming, samples and string arrangements. “I usually have to be out of my element to get that spark of inspiration,” she says of songwriting. The songs on Darling of the Afterglow were all begun away from home, before being brought to fruition in her hometown.

Darling of the Afterglow is Lydia Ainsworth’s sophomore record and follow up to the Juno-nominated and critically acclaimed Right From Real, and today she shares the album’s third single, Into The Blue. She says of the single, “Into The Blue is about reaching the very bottom of one’s emotional depths to achieve purification from fear.”

Darling of the Afterglow | Tracklisting:

1. The Road
2. What Is It?
3. Ricochet
4. Afterglow
5. Open Doors
6. Spinning
7. Into The Blue
8. Wicked Game
9. I Can Feel It All
10. WLCM
11. Nighttime Watching

Darling Of The Afterglow is out March 31 on Arbutus/Bella Union.

Gold Connections – Isabel

This week, Charlottesville, Virginia’s Gold Connections, led by songwriter, guitarist and lyricist Will Marsh, share the third track from their forthcoming self-titled debut EP, which arrives March 31 on Fat Possum.

It comes in the guise of lilting, country-inflected Isabel, which builds from interlocking guitar patterns into an acid-drenched sonic storm rich in the tradition of the very best road-ready indie rock. It follows the recently released New Religion and Faith In Anyone.

Speaking of the track, Marsh says: “‘Isabel’ is not a song about a girl, but a blurred portrait of the circus we call love. It took two years to write because I kept on finding new bizarre angles…If Isabel is a girl then she’s parading somewhere out of view.”

Gold Connections‘ debut EP is now available for pre-order here.

Young Galaxy – Stay For Real

In light of recent global events, from the refugee and U.S. election crises to the passing of many musical and cultural totems, Montreal band Young Galaxy have decided to release a new track, Stay For Real.

On the new single the band says, “We can no longer stand idly by and rely only on the people who shape the world for us culturally and politically. We must stay true to ourselves and feel the courage of our convictions in the face of polarizing political and personal views. But most of all, we must show empathy, compassion and love – even when faced with increasing existential threats, and fear and hostility. This song is a statement of intent, as we enter a new era, to hopefully serve as a reminder to ourselves of what our responsibilities are as artists in this troubled time.”

TOPS – Petals

Montreal’s TOPS will release their long-awaited third album, Sugar At The Gate, on June 2 via Arbutus Records.

The forthcoming record is the groups eagerly-awaited follow up to their sublime 2014 LP, Picture You Staring, and is preceded this week by the shimmering lead single Petals.

Speaking about their latest offering the group explain; “Living in LA was living out a teenage fantasy, living with your band and practicing in the garage. It was also the first time we’ve ever had that much space to make music. I took the experience of living LA as a challenge to make music that I know is real to me, in the sense of it feeling true and containing true feelings, but also recordings of great songs, the real thing.”