Youth Lagoon – Dropla

Youth Lagoon, aka Trevor Powers, just dropped the first cut off his forthcoming sophomore album, Wondrous Bughouse. Having recently announced that Wondrous Bughouse will be released March 5 via Fat Possum, he began streaming ‘Dropla’ earlier. ‘Dropla’ clocks in at just under six minutes in length and while there is echoes of 2011’s Year Of Hibernation, the xylophone and child like piano on ‘Dropla’ makes it feel slightly more optimistic. I’m really diggin’ it.

Album Stream: Octover – Octover

Singapore-based electronic duo Octover dropped two of my favourites tracks of 2012 with “Hurt” and “Satisfy.” The duo, consisting of Van Detta and Jason Tan, are now streaming their self-titled debut EP on their SoundCloud page. Their style of music is a hybrid of Soul with dark electronic beats, reminiscent slightly of How To Destroy Angels. I’ve given the EP a couple of plays now, and it sounds absolutely fantastic. Head over to the groups Bandcamp and purchase a copy.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – So Good At Being In Trouble

If the rest of Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s upcoming new album II is half as good as their new track “So Good At Being In Trouble”, then we are in for a real treat. “So Good At Being In Trouble” is an exceptionally lovely track that displays perfectly what main man Ruban Nielson meant by the term “psychedelic R&B”. Think Tame Impala mixed with Blood Orange.

II drops February 5th via Jagjaguwar.

Tegan and Sara – I Was A Fool

Tegan and Sara’s new single “I Was A Fool” is taken from the duos upcoming album, Heartthrob. It’s just a really nice, radio-friendly pop ballad with typically clever songwriting and lush hooks. Stream is below, and if you haven’t already heard it check out their killer single ‘Closer’ too.

Jessie Ware – If You’re Never Gonna Move (Two Inch Punch Remix)

Jessie Ware dropped her new If You’re Never Gonna Move EP yesterday. It’s effectively her American debut and it features tracks from her exquisite debut Devotion. Jessie Ware recently had to change the name of her track ‘110%’ to ‘If You’re Never Gonna Move’ due to a lawsuit and the EP is named after it. The EP also features a pretty cool remix of the song by London-based producer Two Inch Punch. Stream it below.

Cold War Kids – Miracle Mile

Cold War Kids are back and readying album number four, Dear Miss Lonelyhearts, due April 1st. I’m a massive fan of Cold War Kids, so I was very excited when I heard they had a new track out. It’s called ‘Miracle Mile’ and you can stream it below.
In a recent press release, lead singer Nathan Willett said of the new album: “We were shaken up, ready to let certain songs go further than before by trying new styles and arrangements, while keeping others sparse and caring more about the finished product and less about how we got there.”