The Belle Game – Wait Up For You

Vancouver quintet The Belle Game have a really fantastic new video out to accompany their extremely catchy single Wait Up For You. The video, which was directed by Kheaven Lewandowski, tells the tale of what happens when two girls fall in love in a strict cult-like community. The track itself is nothing like the dark themed video. Instead, it’s a pretty upbeat indie-folk track packed with infectious melodies, soothing guitars and some quality vocals from Andrea Lo.

The Belle Game’s debut album, Ritual Tradition Habit, drops April 16 through Boompa Records.

Album Stream: Deptford Goth – Life After Defo

Deptford Goth, aka Daniel Woolhouse, will release his highly anticipated debut album Life After Defo on March 18 through Merok Records. The astonishing Union is easily one of my favourite singles of the year, and I’ve been counting down the days until this album drops.
If you’re like me and can’t wait that long, you can stream the album in its entirety through Pitchfork Advance.

Check out the video for the amazing Union below.

Baths – Miasma Sky

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and electronic producer Baths will finally release his sophomore LP Obsidian, the follow-up to his fantastic 2010 album Cerulean, on May 28 through AnticonWill Wiesenfeld has kindly shared the upcoming albums first single, Miasma Sky. I’m really liking this actually. It’s a slightly more radio-friendly excursion from Baths and it’s much more pop than his previous recordings. The glitchy synths sound really fresh and Wiesenfeld’s looped vocals sound really cool. Check it out.

Obsidian Tracklist:

Miasma Sky
No Eyes
No Past Lives
Earth Death

Introducing: Surf Dad

Introducing Surf Dad, George and Declan Sands, two brothers from Barwon Heads, Australia. They’ve got some pretty dope tracks available for free on their SoundCloud page that I’ve really been enjoying this evening. They have a style of production that is subtle and minimal, very creative and very engaging. So head over to their SoundCloud and spin a couple of their tracks.

Surfer Blood – Demon Dance

Ooh, really digging this new Surfer Blood track. It’s called Demon Dance and it’s taken from their upcoming sophomore LP Pythons. I enjoyed every minute of Surfer Blood’s previous album, the brilliant Astro Coast, so for me it’s great to hear the band sounding as good as they do on Demon Dance. Sunny vibes all over this one, along with the usual badass guitar playing and distorted vocals. Check it out.

Pythons drops June 11 on Warner Bros.

And just for shits and giggles, here’s Swim!

Flaming Lips – Look… The Sun Is Rising

NPR are streaming the new Flaming Lips track today, Stream the considerably dark Look… The Sun Is Rising here. The Flaming Lips next album is called The Terror, and it’s out April 2 through Warner Bros.

05/20 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
05/21 – London, UK @ Roundhouse

The Terror Tracklist:

01. Look…The Sun Is Rising
02. Be Free, A Way
03. Try To Explain
04. You Lust
05. The Terror
06. You Are Alone
07. Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die
08. Turning Violent
09. Always There…In Our Hearts

Qtier – Kind

Fresh from the release of their stunning self-titled debut EP, Qtier have shared another excellent new track entitled Kind. Like their previous single Still, Kind mixes textured multi-layered electronics with tender synths and hushed vocals, making another truly irresistible listen. I’m tipping these guys to have a massive 2013.

Download their debut EP here.