Wild Oats – Black The Panes

Black The Panes is the wonderful debut release from Adelaide, Australia based outfit Wild Oats. It’s the first single from the trios forthcoming debut Bounty EP, and it’s got one of the nicest hooks I’ve heard all year. There’s some really sweet harmonies and guitar playing to be found here too. They name Tigermilk and Bitte Orca as influences on their Facebook page, so I’m thinking there’s very little to dislike about this band.

Bounty is out March 12, available on their bandcamp.

Benoît Pioulard – Hymnal

Benoît Pioulard’s new album Hymnal was released this week through Kranky. I finally got around to listening to it earlier this morning and I reckon it may be his best effort yet. The soundscapes on this album are far more expansive than his earlier albums. It is, at times, a truly stunning effort. Grab a copy here.

Action Bronson – Morey Boogie Boards (prod. by Harry Fraud)

Action Bronson has teamed up once again with producer Harry Fraud for a track called Morey Boogie Boards which is off Frauds upcoming mixtape Adrift. Having worked together before, the pair really know how to accentuate one anothers strengths. On Morey Boogie Boards, Frauds particularly dope beat sounds really fresh alongside Bronson’s typically kills it with some slick bars.

Adrift drops this Friday.

The Belle Game – Wait Up For You

Vancouver quintet The Belle Game have a really fantastic new video out to accompany their extremely catchy single Wait Up For You. The video, which was directed by Kheaven Lewandowski, tells the tale of what happens when two girls fall in love in a strict cult-like community. The track itself is nothing like the dark themed video. Instead, it’s a pretty upbeat indie-folk track packed with infectious melodies, soothing guitars and some quality vocals from Andrea Lo.

The Belle Game’s debut album, Ritual Tradition Habit, drops April 16 through Boompa Records.

Album Stream: Deptford Goth – Life After Defo

Deptford Goth, aka Daniel Woolhouse, will release his highly anticipated debut album Life After Defo on March 18 through Merok Records. The astonishing Union is easily one of my favourite singles of the year, and I’ve been counting down the days until this album drops.
If you’re like me and can’t wait that long, you can stream the album in its entirety through Pitchfork Advance.

Check out the video for the amazing Union below.

Baths – Miasma Sky

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and electronic producer Baths will finally release his sophomore LP Obsidian, the follow-up to his fantastic 2010 album Cerulean, on May 28 through AnticonWill Wiesenfeld has kindly shared the upcoming albums first single, Miasma Sky. I’m really liking this actually. It’s a slightly more radio-friendly excursion from Baths and it’s much more pop than his previous recordings. The glitchy synths sound really fresh and Wiesenfeld’s looped vocals sound really cool. Check it out.

Obsidian Tracklist:

Miasma Sky
No Eyes
No Past Lives
Earth Death

Introducing: Surf Dad

Introducing Surf Dad, George and Declan Sands, two brothers from Barwon Heads, Australia. They’ve got some pretty dope tracks available for free on their SoundCloud page that I’ve really been enjoying this evening. They have a style of production that is subtle and minimal, very creative and very engaging. So head over to their SoundCloud and spin a couple of their tracks.

Surfer Blood – Demon Dance

Ooh, really digging this new Surfer Blood track. It’s called Demon Dance and it’s taken from their upcoming sophomore LP Pythons. I enjoyed every minute of Surfer Blood’s previous album, the brilliant Astro Coast, so for me it’s great to hear the band sounding as good as they do on Demon Dance. Sunny vibes all over this one, along with the usual badass guitar playing and distorted vocals. Check it out.

Pythons drops June 11 on Warner Bros.

And just for shits and giggles, here’s Swim!