May Mix 2013


1. Disclosure – F For You
2. TNGHT – Mercy
3. Ryan Hemsworth – Empty Thoughts Over A Shallow Ocean
4. Gold Panda – We Work Nights
5. Action Bronson – Strictly 4 My Jeeps
6. Joe Goddard Feat. Mara Carlyle – She Burns
8.  – Waste Of Time
9. Postiljonen – Supreme
10. Treasureseason – Puget Sound
11. Pure Bathing Culture – Pendulum
12. Wardell – Call It What You Want
13. Smith Westerns – 3am Spiritual
14. Daft Punk – Doin’ It Right (feat. Panda Bear)
15. Glass Candy – Warm In The Winter
16. Tree – No Face (feat. Danny Brown)
17. Jacques Greene – On Your Side (feat. How To Dress Well)
18. CHROMATICS – Cherry
19. MF Doom – Doomsday
20. James Blake – CMYK
21. Koreless – Sun


The latest by Swedish trio POSTILJONEN is another gorgeous and incredibly romantic summer jam, called On The Run. On The Run is an ultra-smooth number featuring a really laid-back synth line and lush vocals, reminiscent of some of M83’s finest moments.

POSTILJONEN’s debut, Skyer, drops July 5th through Best Fit Recordings.

Their previous single, Supreme, is another track you should check out. It’s really great!

f y f e – Conversations

It’s not that long since London singer/producer f y f e released his exquisite Solace EP, but he’s not wasting anytime in dropping new music. His latest is another fine offering of modern pop with an element of R&B, entitled Conversations. It’s the production again on this number that’s doing it for me the most. Haunting and stunning all at the same time. I really enjoy his subtle approach to pop music too. It’s a breath of fresh air when you listen to what’s in charts at the moment. Check out Conversations below, and if you slept on f y f e up until now, feast yourself upon his mighty SoundCloud.

Laura Veirs – Sun Song

Sun Song is the lead single from Laura Veirs‘ upcoming ninth studio album, Warp and Weft. I’ve tried to keep up as best I can with Laura Veirs ever since I first heard her charming vocals pop up on The Decemberists Yankee Bayonet. Her voice is just so warm and inviting, and lyrically she is always so solid. Sun Song is a fine example of this, listen to the track, which also features Neko Case, below.

Warp and Weft is due August 19th via Bella Union.

BRAIDS – In Kind

Having already shared Amends, the B-side from their forthcoming new 12″, Montreal-based experimental art-pop outfit BRAIDS are back with the quirky A-side, In Kind. Along with this 12″, BRAIDS have just confirmed that both tracks will feature on their sophomore effort Flourish // Perish, which drops this August. In Kind is a really interesting track, packed with shimmering guitar loops and a sweet vocal performance courtesy of Raphaelle Standell-Preston.

Flourish // Perish drops August 20 via Arbutus.

OMN – Betwixt

Some really chilled late night ambient/electronic for you now in the shape of Betwixt, the latest number from Birmingham’s Ollie McKendrick-Ness, an eighteen-year-old producer who goes by OMN. There’s a captivating beauty about that repeated vocal sample of “I don’t think we can”, which is a HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS sample, and used rather upliftingly here. Add a variety of melodic sounds and celestial beats and you’ve got one really addictive track.

Stream and download the track for free below.

Treasureseason – Puget Sound

Treasureseason is David Powell and Ida Olsson, a British/Swedish Dream Pop duo who met in San Fransisco and are now based in London. Their latest offering, the dazzling and charming Puget Sound, is the pairs first release since they signed with COJA Records. It’s hard to mention Dream Pop and not throw around some overused clichés, but I really mean it when I say that Puget Sound is an incredibly lush and dreamy collection of soft mannered synths and comforting vocals that sound absolutely heavenly. It’s a relaxing and very replayable track, thats landed on me at just the perfect time of the day. Enjoy!

Treasureseason’s double A-side Archipelago / Don’t Hold Back drops June 24.

Baby Alpaca – Wild Child

Following on from the jaw-dropping Sea Of Dreams, Baby Alpaca continue to impress with their latest offering, Wild Child. The opening line – “You said I was a loser, said I was a boozer. What you think with your little mind, You don’t feel Like I feel, and I’m feeling fine” pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the song. Obviously somebody incredibly foolish put him down frontman Chris Kittrell and he’s responding in the best possible way. Like Sea Of Dreams, it’s the vocal performance courtesy of Kittrell that steal the show, and on Wild Child the delivery is once again stunning. The instrumentals here, both somber and uplifting, are slightly more rocky too. Overall it’s another cracking tune. Check them out.

Baby Alpaca’s debut self-titled EP drops on June 25th through Atlas Chair Records.