TRAAMS – Mexico

Back in January, I hopefully swung your attention towards Brighton-based three-piece TRAAMS and their scorching debut single, Peggy. Although it only clocks in at just 1:39 minutes in length, it’s easily one of my favourite tunes of the year. Get on it.
Their latest offering, Mexico, is a little longer and just as good as Peggy, if not better. This track is a bit of riot. Fast and energetic with just the right amount of grit needed to create any decent garage rock number. The band ain’t shy on confidence either and it pours through on this song.
TRAAMS recently signed with Fat Cat Records and I reckon it’s only matter of time before they hit the big time, hard.

Stream and download the track here. Do it!

Janelle Monáe – Q.U.E.E.N. (Feat. Erykah Badu)

The incomparable Janelle Monáe has finally dropped the first single from her eagerly awaited new album, The Electric Lady. This will be Monáe’s first album since her incredible 2010 debut, The ArchAndroid (Suites II and III), an album I will never tire of.
Q.U.E.E.N. sees Janelle Monáe teaming up with soulful songstress Erykah Badu (who’s been appearing on quite a number of great tracks this year) and the pair have laid down a tune that’s just irresistibly funky. Try to play this tune and not bust a move, I dare you.

Q.U.E.E.N. is available on iTunes now. The Electric Lady is out later this year.

Baby Alpaca – Sea of Dreams

Baby Alpaca is the project of New York-based singer songwriter Chris Kittrell, along with drummer Robert Philips and guitarist Zach McMillan. Their incredibly beautiful new single, Sea of Dreams, features one of the most memorable vocal performances of the year.
Sea of Dreams is a sparse yet exceptionally soulful song, focusing on Kittrell’s tender baritone backed by only a gently strummed guitar and piano. It’s the minimal instrumentation that allows us to zone in on Kittrell, who absolutely steals the show. Fans of The National and Brolin will really enjoy this.

Sea of Dreams is part of a new 4-track EP that’s out June 25th through Atlas Chair.

MGMT – Alien Days

Over the weekend, as a part of the annual Record Store Day, MGMT dropped a cassette with a new track on it called Alien Days. It’s the first offering of new material from the band since 2010’s LP, Congratulations.
While it was great to see MGMT continuing to push boundaries with their music instead of just churning out cheap versions of tracks like Kids, I couldn’t help but feel that that album was a major disappointment. The band recently announced that a new self-titled LP, produced by Dave Fridmann, would be released later this year. Let’s hope that the chilled out psychedelic brilliance of Alien Days is included.

Disclosure – You & Me (Feat. Eliza Doolittle)

Following the announcement this week of their highly anticipated debut album Settle, British electronic duo Disclosure have dropped their brand new single You & Me which features Eliza Doolittle on vocals.
It’s another ridiculously catchy track by brothers Guy and Howard Lawrence and like Aluna Francis on their previous single, White Noise, Eliza Doolittle’s vocals sound great and make another pretty perfect combination.

Settle drops June 3rd through PMR Records.

Savages – Shut Up

Just before they release their debut LP Silence Yourself on May 3rd, Savages have shared another blistering new track from it called Shut Up, with an equally impressive video directed by Giorgio Testi.
The video begins with a chilling narrative by singer Jehnny Beth, “The world used to be silent, now it has too many voices, and the noise is a constant distraction”. The video then goes on to display one of the London-based post-punk outfits many strengths, their live show.
This is a ferocious, snarling and highly addictive track that opens the forthcoming LP. The fact that I’ve never seen them live before has me even more pumped for this years Field Day!

Check out the awesome video below, and pre-order Silence Yourself here.

Laurel Halo – Throw

New York-based producer Laurel Halo has announced a follow-up EP to her incredible 2012 LP Quarantine, and dropped a brand new track as well. Behind The Green Door will be Halo’s next release for London-based electronic label Hyperdub and it drops May 20th.
The first offering from the upcoming EP is the piano-driven Throw. Halo has created another dark and haunting track driven by an out of tune piano and some deep house rhythms. Check out the tune below, and also Behind The Green Door’s tracklisting:

Tracklist For Behind The Green Door:
01. Throw
04. Sex Mission