Jungle – Platoon

Platoon is the impressive debut single from Chess Club Records’ exciting new signing, Jungle. At the moment there is little info about the group, other than the fact they’re from London, but Platoon should be enough to keep you going for the time being. Platoon is a funky little number that sees the group including a wide range of influences into the mix, reminiscent to the likes of Tv on the Radio and Gorillaz. It’s as catchy as it is funky, and I really think you’ll all like it.

Jungle will release a double-A-side single on July 15th through Chess Club Records, featuring the tracks Platoon and Drops.

Treasureseason – Don’t Hold Back

Here’s the new one by British/Swedish Dream Pop duo Treasureseason, it’s called Don’t Hold Back and it’s really rather lovely. If you were as fond of their recent release, Puget Sound, then you’re going to fall pretty hard for this one too. David Powell and Ida Olsson’s formula of pairing dreamy and blissed-out instrumentals with lush females vocals isn’t something that’s never been done before, but when listening to Don’t Hold Back, they both manage to make everything sound so fresh and new.

Thanks to Gold Flake Paint for premiering the track.

Beck – Defriended

Well this has sort of come out of the blue, some unexpected new material by the one and only Beck. Rolling Stone magazine have reported that apparently Beck has another album in the works, besides the acoustic album penned for a release this year, to act as a proper follow-up to 2009’s Modern Guilt (an album that I really loved). His latest offering, Defriended, won’t feature on either album and will instead act as a stand alone single available later this Summer. Stream the very excellent Defriended below. Good to have to back, Beck.


The End, the latest offering by CYMBALS, was inspired by singer Jack Cleverly’s time in Paris and by the Parisian clubs of the 90s. According to Cleverly, The End is “about the night and the night out, about being young, and being the only one, and then, suddenly being older.” The London four-piece are on a roll at the moment with a string of pretty solid singles like The Natural World and Like An Animal, and The End is yet another shimmering seven-minute-long offering of disco-infused electro-pop. They’re becoming one of the most exciting acts around.

The End drops on July 22nd via Tough Love, and will feature alongside Like An Animal and The Natural World on their forthcoming album, which is due later this year.

Run The Jewels – Banana Clipper (feat. Big Boi)

El-P and Killer Mike have followed up Get It, with another track that shows how awesome their collaboration as Run The Jewels is going to be. For their new joint, Banana Clipper, they’ve linked up with Hip-Hop heavyweight Big Boi who pops up with a typically dope verse. Fool’s Gold will release their collaborative album for free this month. Stream and download Banana Clipper below.

“Producer gave me a beat, said it’s the beat of the year. But El-P didn’t do it, so get the fuck out of here.”

Hibou – Sunder

Fresh from releasing his impressive double A-side single Glow / Hollow, Hibou, the moniker of 19 year-old Seattle-based musician Peter Michel, returns with another mesmerising slice of surf-pop. Sunder, the title track from his eagerly-awaited debut EP Dunes, sees Hibou channelling bands like Beach Fossils, DIIV, Wild Nothing and The Cure to create a fast-paced track that’s both shimmering and addictive. The tracks jangly guitars and prominent bassline work really well alongside its pulsating beat and Michel’s own hushed vocals. Check it out.

Dunes is out June 13. Stream and download Sunder below.

Capital Cities – Farrah Fawcett Hair (feat. André 3000)

Farrah Fawcett Hair, the latest by LA’s Capital Cities, features narration courtesy of NPR’s Frank Tavares as well as a crazy catchy verse by André 3000 and it sounds….. amazing! Honestly, this is one of the most random and catchiest songs you’ll hear this year. And, if you’re like me, where André 3000 goes you’ll follow. Farrah Fawcett Hair is off the wall, totally surprising and ridiculously catchy. “It’s good shit.”

Capital Cities’ upcoming LP, In a Tidal Wave of Mystery, drops June 4. Pre-order it here.

The Preatures – Is This How You Feel?

This is absolutely brilliant! Sydney-based Rock and Roll outfit The Preatures‘ new single, Is This How You Feel? is without doubt one of the most irresistible tunes I’ve stumbled upon this year. Drenched with plenty of incredibly infectious Fleetwood Mac/70’s rock style vibes, it’s bound to get stuck in your head and stay there for the remainder of the weekend. Vocalist Isabella Manfredi’s sweet and sultry vocals sound like a mix of Stevie Nicks and Feist at their most upbeat. It’s an extremely addictive release, check it out below.