Secret Mountains – High Horse

Baltimore-based sextet Secret Mountains‘ Jeffrey Lewis Silverstein kindly sent me his bands latest offering ”High Horse’ to see what I made of it. Little did he know I had their previous track ‘Coasting’ playing on repeat all last week so when he got in touch with me I was pretty excited. The band will drop their debut album Rainer via Friends Records on February 26, and if the rest of the album is anywhere near the standard of ‘Coasting’ and in particular the stunning ‘High Horse’ then we’re in for a real treat. Clocking in at just under five minutes, ‘High Horse’ is a beautifully written track with some of the most gorgeous vocals I’ve heard in quite a while courtesy of Kelly Laughlin. The riff running throughout the track, which they struggled finding the best way to record, sounds awesome too. Make sure you check this one out.

Shaking Through: Secret Mountains from Weathervane Music on Vimeo.

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – Kindness Be Conceived (Ft. Joanna Newsom)

Thao Nguyen’s indie-pop outfit Thao & The Get Down Stay Down release We The Common on February 5. The track that everybody is most excited about, ‘Kindness Be Conceived’, is finally available to stream. The song features guest vocals from the heavenly Joanna Newsom, and boy does she sound as good as ever. I don’t think there was ever any real doubt as to whether the song would be great, but it exceeded my enormous expectations and both Nguyen and Newsom’s harmonies sound just perfect together on this really sunny and uplifting folk-pop song.

The Knife Reveal ‘Shaking The Habitual’ Tracklist

The Knife have revealed the tracklist for their upcoming new LP Shaking The Habitual, due April 8. The album is going to run for around 100 minutes, so I’m guessing it’s a double/triple album. I. Cannot. Wait.

Shaking the Habitual:

01 A Tooth for an Eye 6:04
02 Full of Fire 9:17
03 A Cherry on Top 8:43
04 Without You My Life Would Be Boring 5:14
05 Wrap Your Arms Around Me 4:36
06 Crake 0:55
07 Old Dreams Waiting to Be Realized 19:22
08 Raging Lung 9:58
09 Networking 6:42
10 Oryx 0:37
11 Stay Out Here 10:42
12 Fracking Fluid Injection 9:54
13 Ready to Lose 4:36