Låpsley – Station

Have you ever stumbled upon on a track that at first you’re not so sure about, but you find yourself revisiting it and being continually drawn to it? That was most definitely the case for me with Station, the alluring debut release by 17-year old Holly Lapsley Fletcher, aka Låpsley.
Perhaps the coolest thing about this track, other than its minimal production that really lures you in, is that there is no additional vocalist here, those deep vocals are just Låpsley’s layered with the pitch shifted down. Get on it.

Head over to Låpsley’s Soundcloud to hear more.

Cheerleader – New Daze

New Daze is the glorious new release by Philadelphia’s self-proclaimed ‘Hazy Electro-Pop Quintet’ Cheerleader. The song is a very melodic piece of infectious lo-fi that just begs to be played over and over again. I think I’m moving on to my 7th straight play, and I’m still not tired of it. That wonderful hand-clap melody is just timeless, and the cheery vocals would lift even the most miserable of listeners.

Check out the video for New Daze, which was directed by Vondelpark’s Ciaran Wood, down below.

Angel Olsen – Hi-Five

On February 18, Angel Olsen will release her sophomore album Burn Your Fire for No Witness, and today the Jagjaguwar-signed singer-songwriter followed-up the exceptional Forgiven/Forgotten with a new track entitled Hi-Five.
While Forgiven/Forgotten was more of a full-on rocker, Hi-Five sees Angel Olsen exploring a slightly more Alt-Country aesthetic.

“To lay it out simply: ‘Hi-Five’ could very well be a song about acquiring a little belief, a little trust, despite a lonely attitude,” she told Speakeasy. “In fact, we are all lonely sometimes — it’s not unnatural, it’s not unfamiliar, it’s not a pity. Sometimes it’s good to remind a friend of that.”

Burn Your Fire For No Witness is released on February 18 through Jagjaguwar. I’m tipping it to be one of the albums of 2014.

The Men – Pearly Gates

The Men have dropped the blistering first single from their upcoming fifth studio album Tomorrow’s Hits, which is out March 4 on Sacred Bones. It seems the Brooklyn five-piece intend on releasing an album a year, their debut Immaculada was released in 2010, and on Pearly Gates they show absolutely no signs of slowing down.

Pre-order Tomorrow’s Hits here.

Tomorrow’s Hits:
01. Dark Waltz
02. Get What You Give
03. Another Night
04. Different Days
05. Sleepless
06. Pearly Gates
07. Settle Me Down
08. Going Down

GUM – Growin’ Up

Tame Impala/Pond multi-instrumentalist Jay Watson is about to embark on his second solo outing this year as GUM, and has just shared his brilliant new track, Growin’ Up. Fans of Tame Impala’s style of sun-drenched psychedelic pop will really love this track, as it hits all the right nerves.

According to GUM’s management, the forthcoming record is “mostly about falling in love and all of the things that he thinks are going to kill him.” Sounds like my kind of record.

Stream and download Growin’ Up down below.