SILVER SOUNDZ | October 2017 Mix

1. Tune-Yards – Look at Your Hands
2. Fever Ray – IDK About You
3. Smerz – No harm
4. George FitzGerald – Burns
5. Lindstrøm & Jenny Hval – Bungl (Like A Ghost)
6. Gucci Mane – I Get the Bag (feat. Migos)
7. SASSY 009 – Are you leaving
8. Yaeji – Drink I’m Sippin On
9. Future & Young Thug – Patek Water (feat. Offset)
10. John Maus – Teenage Witch
11. Nabihah Iqbal (fka Throwing Shade) – Something More
12. Porches – Country
13. Sufjan Stevens – Wallowa Lake Monster

Video: Protomartyr – Don’t Go To Anacita

Protomartyr have released a new video for their rollicking single Don’t Go To Anacita. The song is one of the most anthemic the band have written, and is one of the highlights off their critically acclaimed new album, Relatives In Descent.

Singer Joe Casey described the fictional town of Anacita in a recent interview with NPR Music. “From touring around America you get to see all sorts of municipalities,” says Casey, “and I picture Anacita as an affluent suburb that looks quaint and respectable but maybe has too many cops for the population size. Like, maybe the next town over is a little more down-on-its-heel and the border between the two is stark in its sharpness.”

The surreal video, inspired equally by obvious touchstone ‘Stairway to Lenin’ by Zbigniew Rybzynski and R.E.M.’s ‘Imitation of Life,’ was directed by Yoonha Park, who said “I wanted to make a visual that recreated the feeling of scanning over a large, densely populated image, like a Breughel painting or Where’s Waldo?. I wanted to convey a feeling of false progress and the idea that every new horror that meets us is part of a never-ending continuum. Joe Casey’s lyrics are chock full of references both contemporary and classical, often in the same song. It creates a really unique visual field that conveys the exact flavor of dread I find myself feeling a lot lately.”

Protomartyr‘s new record Relatives In Descent is out now on Domino Records.

Rhye – Taste

Rhye return with a stunning new single Taste. The new track is available now via Loma Vista Recordings / Caroline International and will be will be featured on the group’s much anticipated sophomore album, due for release in early 2018.

The forthcoming album follows Rhye’s debut album Woman, which was released in 2013 to widespread critical acclaim. Sonically, Taste is reflective of the band’s evolving live show as the group gears up for extensive touring next year.

Rhye frontman Milosh comments: “We’re hitting the road hard in 2018. So much of the new music we’re making has been inspired and influenced by our live show and all the touring we’ve done over the last few years, and we can’t wait to share it with you. Today we’re happy to present ‘Taste’…something to satiate you until we meet again.”

Romare – All Night (Live Session 1)

Romare (real name Archie Fairhurst) returns to Ninja Tune with a brand new EP, Live Sessions 1. The EP is a collection of live, stripped back tracks recorded at different times in his home studio and on the road this year.

Last years critically acclaimed LP, Love Songs: Part 2 gained high praise from the likes of Evening Standard, Mixmag, DJ Mag and was described as “experimental psychedelic love songs bound together by gelatinous alien synths and a low-key jazz melody” by The Guardian. Live Sessions 1 features one-off recordings of tracks from last years album. Opening with stand out track ‘All Night’, the EP also includes ‘Je T’aime’ and two alternate versions of ‘Come Close To Me’ (the first released earlier this year alongside an 80’s inspired video directed by Greg Barnes).

Each track was mixed live and recorded in one take using only instruments from the live set up, samples from the original recordings and sometimes with live bass guitar from his brother, creating a pulled-apart and authentic listen. “The songs were recorded in the same spirit as they are performed on stage” comments Archie, “I have never released recordings like this before, so it will sound quite different from previous recordings, but I think it’s a good way of documenting the live set this year”.

Video: METZ – Drained Lake

Strange Peace, the excellent new METZ album, is available now from Sub Pop Records (Worldwide, ex-Canada) and Royal Mountain Records (in Canada).

In METZ’s new video for Drained Lake, director Shayne Ehman (who also directed the band’s video for Cellophane) highlights no less than the transient nature of time and space, through cutlery and kitchen wares.

Drained Lake is one of the standouts from the new METZ album Strange Peace. And the song is a propulsive, jagged thing; heavy 21st-century post-post-punk, with an infectious sea-sick synth line added for good measure.