Broken Social Scene – Stay Happy

Toronto’s Broken Social Scene have today shared Stay Happy, the latest track to be released from their forthcoming album Hug of Thunder, out July 7 on Arts & Crafts.

Hug Of Thunder is everything BSS fans love from the Canadian collective and then some, an album overflowing with glorious open chords, multi-voice harmonies, spacious psychedelia-tinted breakdowns, and more. It is a panoramic, expansive album that manages to be both epic and intimate; and like all things BSS, in troubled times, it offers a serotonin rush of positivity.

Since their inception in the early Aughts, BSS have always pushed sonic boundaries while remaining reverent of a perfect chorus; almost twenty years down the line, Hug Of Thunder sharpens that balance. The record’s twelve songs refract the band’s varying emotions, methods, and techniques in ways that not only reference their other albums, but surpass them. Hug Of Thunder is righteous but warm, angry but loving, melodic but uncompromising. And if you’ve ever fallen in love with Broken Social Scene – as many of us have – it is a perfect return that was truly worth the wait.

Hug Of Thunder is out July 7 on Arts & Crafts. Pre-order here.

Blood Cultures – Moon

New Jersey’s Blood Cultures returns after the celebrated release of the hazy yet sparkling single Indian Summer and an extended hiatus with newfound focus. Today Blood Cultures shares a new tropical meets psychedelic synth infused single Moon and announces a forthcoming debut album Happy Birthday, due out next month on July 21.

Moon promises to take listeners on an adventure with its buoyant synths, rhythmic beats, and reverb-laden vocals that create a surreal sound menagerie.