Daniel Avery – Slow Fade

Five years after his critically acclaimed debut Drone Logic, London-based producer Daniel Avery announces his highly anticipated second album, Song For Alpha, will be released April 6 on Phantasy/Mute in the United States and Canada and via Phantasy for the rest of the world. The album is preceded by the Slow Fade EP, out today on digital formats and a 4-track limited edition 12-inch vinyl. Stream and order the Slow Fade EP here.

The new long player, on which the track Slow Fade will appear, follows 2013’s incendiary debut Drone Logic. In the years since, Avery has helmed a DJ-Kicks mix CD, resided over a monthly radio show for NTS Live, curated an extensive remix compilation and collaborated on a series of side-projects including a recent release with Nine Inch Nails synth specialist Alessandro Cortini. He has also toured relentlessly, cementing a reputation as one of the defining techno DJs of the decade.

Song For Alpha is Avery’s exploration of the space in which home listening and club music intersect, in no small part inspired by his transient life spent between nightclubs, flights, the passenger seats of cars and hotel rooms. He confirms, “Drone Logic’s spiritual home was the dancefloor. This record’s is definitely the road. Those late nights and hazy mornings, finding inspiration beyond the fog.”

Daniel Avery’s Slow Fade EP is out today via Phantasy. Pick up the 12” here.