Fleet Foxes – Third of May / Ōdaigahara

Fleet Foxes will release their long-awaited and highly-anticipated third album Crack-Up on June 16 via Nonesuch Records.

Crack-Up comes six years after the 2011 release of Helplessness Blues and nearly a decade since the band’s 2008 self-titled debut.

All eleven of the songs on Crack-Up were written by Robin Pecknold. The album was co-produced by Pecknold and Skyler Skjelset, his longtime bandmate, collaborator, and childhood friend. Crack-Up was recorded at various locations across the United States between July 2016 and January 2017: at Electric Lady Studios, Sear Sound, The Void, Rare Book Room, Avast, and The Unknown.

Fleet Foxes has released the album track Third of May / Ōdaigahara, a nearly nine-minute epic powered by piano and electric twelve-string guitar, string quartet, and the group’s trademark sparkling harmonies. Listen to it up above.

Crack-Up is out June 16 on Nonesuch Records. Pre-order here.