Iceage – Coalition

Copenhagen post-punk outfit Iceage dropped a new track today called ‘Coalition’, it’s the first single taken from their new album, the excellently named, You’re Nothing. The album will be out February 19 via Matador Records, and my first impressions of ‘Coalition’ are that it’s brilliant.
‘Coalition’ sounds a lot more focused than anything I previously heard on Iceage’s debut, the chaotic New Brigade. That’s not to say they’ve lost any of their ferocity, they just seem to have toned the noise down a little. There’s still those familiar vocals, which sound like Joe Strummer, Pete Doherty and Joey Ramone all shouting into the one microphone. There’s also plenty of distorted guitars. It’s just a great new track.